Happy New Year

What does one post on the first day of a New Year? I could post resolutions for the upcoming year (write more on my blog, read fewer blogs). I could also review my past year and vow to do better this year. Or I could simply show off what embroidery projects I finished this year and give you a preview of those I am aiming to finish in 2013.

Here are some of the projects I completed this year. It was a great year for stitching because I actually stitched more this year than I have in at least 10 years. I also learned some new stitches and techniques. Bonus!

In early spring, I took my first online class, A Nesting Place, over at Needle ‘n Thread. What a joy! I loved stitching on linen and used silk, wool and linen threads. Our project became a needlebook that I use everyday. I look forward to more online classes in 2013.NestingBirdsInside NestingBirdsComplete

Here is another needlebook that I stitched for my sister’s 50th birthday. Needlebook Outside Needlebook Inside

My friend Ginny, gave me this cross stitch bookmark kit many years ago. I worked on it on and off for years and finally finished just before the end of the year. It is my favorite bookmark and I hope it helps me read more this year.Bookmark

This is a small Jacobean piece called Pavene from Roseworks.  I featured this one already in my first post. This was also a really fun stitch. I learned how to do the coral and cretan stitches. I have another kit from Roseworks, Minuet, in my stitching queue.Pavane

CrazyCat2

My friend Janet asked me to contribute a square for the quilt she is making for her son Sam. Since Sam was our cat sitter, I stitched this ‘crazy cat’ design. I had a lot of fun deciding what stitches and colors to use.

For the first time ever, I participated in a secret stitcher exchange. Here is what I made using a pattern from Needleprints ‘Tokens of Love.’SecretStitcher9

Looking forward to 2013, two projects I definitely would like to finish are Mouline Rouge by Long Dog Samplers and a needlepainting project from another online class I took at Needle ‘n Thread.  I would also love to try stumpwork (I have a kit from Jane Nicholas in my stash) and I would love to master the interlacing herringbone stitch.

MoulineRouge2a

Mouline Rouge

Strawberries1a

Strawberry Needlepainting WIP

Wishing you all a very happy and healthy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

